//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Weekend Washup – Australian Guineas Day

 

Palentino survived the protest this time to win the Australian Guineas

Subscribe to the Free Email List

Australian Guineas

My top pick for this race Xtravagant finished midfield, everyone has now come out and potted this horse but don’t be so quick to dismiss. No horse near the pace was close in the finish in fact Xtravagant was lengths in front of Mahuta and Snoopy add to this the fact he got here late Thursday and raced Saturday. I think there will be a lot of benefit for him 2nd up.

It was still a winning race though with the 1.5 units staked on Palentino and being able to get a ridiculous $10 for him, I said the wide barrier won’t be as big an issue as some thought and it rung true getting $10 for him. Of course though it wouldn’t be racing at the moment without drama and I was holding my breath throughout that protest scare. Palentino now looks set to back up against the older horses next weekend in The Australian Cup, will be tough to get past Bow Creek though.

My top 5 picks ran the Trifecta which paid around $1000, and if you took out the two on pace runners there’s the three trifecta picks also had a strong push for River Wild who ran 4th so there was a lot of money to be made playing the exotics, feels good to be finally on top of the bookies again.

Back In Profit

Saturday saw the return of profit outlaying 19.5 units and return 34 .5 units for a 15 unit profit. Wednesday will be the next day tips are sent out so make sure your on the email list! Subscribe to the Free Email List

Libran

I have tipped him to my followers all 3 starts this prep and he has been close but just had a few things go against him. Going forward I expect more improvement and more winning, he has won up to 2400m overseas and Chris Waller also thinks he can be that consistent stayer so keep an eye out for him.

Press Statement’s Flop

Before we even get to Press Statement let’s talk about Tulsa, that was a shocking ride by Steven Arnold. Why do jockeys when they can clearly see the fence is an absolute no go zone want to ride there, Tulsa was never going to win but I will never back him again with Arnold on board.

There’s been a lot of talk about Bowman’s ride but in my humble opinion Press Statement was out in time to catch Le Romain but he just couldn’t. Hugh Bowman probably should have elected to sit wide with cover rather than getting back and sitting two out but that’s racing in the end it cost him a length or two but could have been worse. I’m spewing because twice I have backed Le Romain and sent him out to the followers but on Saturday I didn’t, I thought his up spiral has ended and I was wrong and I was left licking my wounds.

English Is Back

The biggest bet of the day got up! English has been trialing like a superstar and he run on Saturday was brilliant. Gaining a lot of momentum down the middle of the track before weaving and ducking up the inside to nail Kinglike near the post was great to watch especially because followers had a big 4unit bet riding on her. Worth following her further into her prep.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment